Sunday, March 20, 2005

Can your ranking be hurt with others framing you?

Having removed most of the 302 filth from my sites, I got to looking at who else may be up to dodgy practices to harm my rankings on Google.

My attention was taken by another DMOZ scraper Artman.net . Again try a state at random, say Michigan Travel and Tourism on it, then select an entry like Apple Valley Golf Club

That page has top and bottom frames. Top frame is

http://artmam.net/www1/top/www.applevalleygolf.com/

bottom frame is

http://www.applevalleygolf.com/

Now do the allinurl search for applevalleygolf.com and you get only two results, the Golf Club's own site, and, would you believe their page on Artman.net

A header check shows no 302 and no cloaking

#1 Server Response: http://artmam.net/www1/main/www.applevalleygolf.com/
HTTP Status Code: HTTP/1.1 200 OK

I have tried to remove my sites on this guy that are appearing in "allinurl" but it is obviously not a 302, as Google sternly refuses to remove the referring page "We could not detect any meta tags on that page."

Instinctively I feel that this must be harming my rankings, but for the life of me I cannot work out what it is.

Am I being paranoid, or is this as deep a scam as 302 hijacks?

I tried Claus, who knows more about these things than I do, and his view was

This search is the most important one:
http://www.google.com/search?num=100&q=apple+valley+golf+course

Artmam has two listings in the top 500, none of them is the frameset URL. So, at first look there is no problem. I didn't bother to go to top 1000.

The second most important search is this one:
http://www.google.com/search?num=100&q=site%3Awww.applevalleygolf.com

Artmam is not listed as part of the Applevalleygolf site. So, again, there is no problem.

The allinurl search shows only that Artmam has Applevalleygolf as part of a url on their site. There's no harm done in that.

So, framing seems to be safe (at least from this one example).

Actually Artmam is smart here, in that (s)he does not hijack the target site, but manages to display targetted ads in the top frame anyway. It looks a bit spammy with the URL and keywords in dark text topmost (as well as the ebay links), but it seems like it's harmless.
So it looks as if this framing technique is a little "harmess" spamming of the Google index, in order for them to get AdSense ads on the back of the original web site

3 Comments:

At 4:32 AM, Anonymous said...

Good design!
[url=http://xeuiamwd.com/obgs/tzyu.html]My homepage[/url] | [url=http://uhijjmxo.com/ylah/zjjn.html]Cool site[/url]

 
At 4:32 AM, Anonymous said...

Great work!
My homepage | Please visit

 
At 4:33 AM, Anonymous said...

Well done!
http://xeuiamwd.com/obgs/tzyu.html | http://woouzdwh.com/lcid/blux.html

 

Post a Comment

<< Home